DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 06-01-2007, 12:40 AM
Gold Member

Default Impressed with Evans heads

I've been playing Remo heads exclusively for over 30 years and I have dealt with the inconsistency issue with Remo heads for a long time. I was a fan of clear emperors on my Yamaha RC kit but I kept getting heads that weren't as resonant as others on the kit. Same deal with the coated emperors on my snare, one good one and two bad ones.....it goes on and on. So I switched to clear ambassadors and they sounded great but didn't last long. Well, after doing some research and hearing some drums equipped with Evans heads, I begrudgingly gave them a try and went with clear G2's over clear G1's on my toms, a power center reverse dot on my snare and an EMAD on my kick drum. Boy, was I glad I did. The heads are very consistent, my toms sing, my kick drum has a nice low end thump with nothing in the drum and a Yamaha logo powewrstroke type resonant head on the front, and the snare has a nice pop with just the right amount of ring. I am VERY happy with these heads and their sound. Sorry Remo, you just lost another customer.
Old 06-01-2007, 01:08 AM

Default Re: Impressed with Evans heads

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdrums21 View Post