DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 03-09-2007, 08:05 PM
Platinum Member

Default Tightscrew review

I've been using Tightscrew tuning bolts for several months (www.tightscrew.com) for my set at http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=18719. They are like regular tuning bolts, except they have a groove cut into the side and a strip of nylon plastic pressed into the groove. The same technology has long been used on helicopters to keep critical parts from vibrating loose.

They work as advertised - they absolutely do not loosen up. And I have the worst possible scenario for detuning problems: my drums they are very fussy to tune and sound bad if even slightly out of tune; triple-flanged hoops; tube lugs, which amplify and transmit vibration; and I like very loose resonant heads, in some cases only finger-tight. I'd sometimes have tuning bolts unscrew completely and fall to the ground. WIth tightscrews, even the loosest resonant tom screws stay put and even the most ferocious rimshots have no effect on snare tuning.

The drawback is that changing and tuning heads is more laborious, as you have to crank a lot harder to get the bolts in or out. However, I have to fuss with the bolts a lot less than I used to. Tightscrews have saved me a lot of effort and my drums sound much better.

The person who runs the company, Carl Scott, is a great guy to deal with and very focused on customer satisfaction. I wish they had a wider range of sizes, but I think he has to buy the bolts in large quantities and some of the more unusual sizes wouldn't be profitable.

My drums still need occasional touch-up tuning. I think that's because of the heads, lugs and shell responding to temperature and humidity differences. My drums are extremely sensitive so this sort of thing might not affect other kinds of drums.