DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Your Place > Your Gear

Your Gear Show your Gear - Pictures - Descriptions

Old 01-10-2007, 09:27 PM

Default ewe.classic kit.

Hello folks,

my name is Eric an I am from Saxony, Germany. I am a 19 year old student. Playing drums since fall 2003 I have tested a bunch of kits by playing several gigs and buying/selling drumsets. I tried to play a lot of styles in the first time and had projects playing funk, soul, pop, rock and even metal and stuff. It was just to enlarge my musical horizon. So in the end and as a result of that process I came up with a Ludwig kit from the late 1970's era I got from a friend from Bavaria.

It is white, so one can either love it or hate it ;) . I use to play Remo Ambassador coated as batter heads, which create - in combination with Ambassador clear as resonant heads - a very cool sound which I find is not comparable with the todays modern rock drumkits. But I love the old acoustic "oumph"-sound and for a rock musician there should be "huge" drums in order to get the "huge sound". I experienced that such a kit makes sense for rock music instead of trying to smack a 22/10/12/14 like with a hammer.

So here it is:

Ludwig Classic Maple kit (6 ply maple, white pvc-cover)

24"x14" bassdrum
14"x10" tom
18"x16" tom

14"x6,5" ludwig supraphonic snare

14" and 15" Zildjian Avedis New Beat HiHats
18" Zildjian Avedis Medium Crash
20" Zildjian Avedis Crash/Ride
22" Zildjian Avedis Medium Ride

The cymbals are all from the 1950's - 1970's. Though I own a lot of "old" stuff I do not consider myself a "vintage-freak". All that matters to me is the sound. And older instruments perfectly fulfill those requirements.

Sticks are in most cases Vic Firth 5B or 5A, but I tend to play 5B for most of the time. Hardware comes from Stagg, Pearl and noname companies but I'm really satisfied with it and playing feels great though.

Yours, Eric.
Old 01-10-2007, 09:30 PM