DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 01-19-2018, 04:06 AM

Default Finally found out what's wrong with my bass foot... but I don't know how to fix it.

I've been working on improving my bass foot for the past 2-3 months by using using this one simple exercise I kind of made up (picture below).

Yesterday, I decided to go at it a bit longer. I started at 72 BPM. After 20 minutes, I felt my foot coming "loose" , should I say, and I lowered the tempo to 70 BPM to avoid tensioning up my foot muscles; I'm training myself to play clear strokes and not "stutter" the notes.

Felt myself going looser losing even more control, so I lowered it again to 67 BPM after 5 minutes. This went on until I reached 55 BPM. And I went "what the hell?" and just stopped. Then I tried a double bass stroke exercise I had, but I stuttered the kick on that one as well.

Then it dawned on me : I lose control when I get tired, so I started missing notes (not pushing the pedal enough for the beater to hit) and stuttering, but I don't know any way to fix this. Would love to know of any solutions from y'all, thanks in advance.

(Just in case anyone wants to know, I use a Pearl P-930 pedal which is quite old and the chain has rusted a bit and a Yamaha DTX540K with a KP65 bass pad (which in my opinion sucks, it feels like a hockey puck and I could feel that it doesn't transfer vibrations well).
Attached Images

Old 01-19-2018, 04:50 AM
Silver Member

Default Re: Finally found out what's wrong with my bass foot... but I don't know how to fix it.

Buy Jojo Mayer's Secret Weapons for the Modern Drummer Part 2.

After you learn from Jojo, go to YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afFHm6wJf7g

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjRqBIxxdrg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jh8jq3T3w6w