DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 10-13-2017, 06:09 AM
Gold Member

Default Building vocabulary

As a drummer I like to write out all of my drum parts for original song's that I play with my band's. By doing this I find that I push myself way more the just coming up with things off the top of my head. But as of late I have been thinking about time constraints when it comes to getting thing's together very fast for recording and live show's. Writing out 200 variations in 1 song is fine when you have 8 hours a day 5 days a week to practice to be able to commit it all to memory. But that's really not feasible when you're crunched for time in order to pop out new material live or in the studio. Thus necessitating the ability to improvise very creatively at will. I mean all this specifically when it comes to Fill's as that's usually where the most variations occur within any given song. Writing and remembering beats for the song is generally much easier because of their being less variations and therefore less to remember.

So I've been thinking of the best way's to increase my vocabulary in the fill department that will allow me to express myself just as creativity while improvising as I can when I write each fill out. I think it will take a crap load of work and will be a rest of my life endeavor. But I think it will be worth it.