DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 09-20-2017, 01:20 AM

Default Guess what I left at home?!

I've been a gigging weekend bar drummer since 1980 when I still at school - but this was a first...

Last Saturday night I checked all the drums, got my stage wear together, and got all my bits and pieces sorted for a gig the following afternoon. I like to be prepared.

It was only at the bar venue, and after I'd assembled my drum kit, and attached the stick holder to my hi-hat stand that I realised an absolutely vital component was missing.

Still hanging on a door handle inside my house miles away was my stick bag containing all my sticks.

Panic stations. There followed several frantic phone calls with the gig only 45 minutes to one hour away. I would not be able to get home and back in time.

A horrible image of me doing two 45-minute sets bare-hand Bonham-style honestly crossed my mind.

In the event, and after much sweating and cursing from myself, the sticks finally arrived just in time, transported by my unamused girlfriend who had to race across with them.

To compound my humiliation, with my band mates taking the p#ss all afternoon, I had to soundcheck with two improvised 6-inch 'sticks' made from a wooden coat-hanger. It did not look, feel or sound good.

And so, yes, hands up to gross stupidity on the day - and a major lesson learned. Sticks will go first into the case next and every weekend!
Old 09-20-2017, 01:30 AM
Silver Member

Default Re: Guess what I left at home?!

Were they Vic Firth coat hangers? They're the best ones, perfectly matched and balanced.

Yeah that sucks man, my sympathies.