DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 06-03-2017, 06:05 PM
Silver Member

Default Scott K Fish: Creativity vs. Business

SKF NOTE: At age 28 I realized my life was out-of-balance. Devoting so much time to drumming, music, and writing -- I had neglected the practical matters of earning a living, of understanding how business works. I'm still learning!

This piece is one of the rare columns I wrote for Modern Drummer. It's based on my experience as a working drummer -- and I guess my advice here still holds true.

Scott K Fish Blog: Life Beyond the Cymbals
Old 06-04-2017, 02:34 AM

Default Re: Scott K Fish: Creativity vs. Business

From 1984 to 2017 is a huge difference, and would say that article is ahead of it's time. Unfortunately music business is way worse than in 1984 and keeps declining.
Old 06-04-2017, 02:59 AM
Pioneer Member

Sage advice, Scott! I printed this out this very article from my MD Archive ( a valuable resource which every drummer should have) some time ago and it is amazing how many people blame everything but developing a business sense for being able to earn a living!

Mike

http://www.mikemccraw.com
http://www.dominoretroplate.com
http://www.facebook.com/mike.mccraw
http://www.youtube.com/drummermikemccraw
http://www.myspace.com/drummermikemccraw
http://www.linkedin.com/in/mikemccraw
http://twitter.com/mikemccraw
http://www.skillpages.com/mike.mccraw
Old 06-05-2017, 05:05 PM
Administrator - Mayor