DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 05-04-2017, 03:47 PM

Default Parted Ways With Drum Teacher

Showed up at my lesson, exchanged pleasantries, and paid the teacher for the month. He asked what I had been working on and I replied that I had been working on the groove that he showed me last lesson. I started playing the groove. Almost immediately he stopped me saying that the open handed thing was killing me.

A little back ground here. I am an adult and have been playing for about 9 months. I started playing traditional cross hands/sticks which I learned from a DVD. After reading about open handed playing, I made the switch. I don't intend to say that open handed is superior to any other style of playing, it just happens to be what I think works best for me. I told him that before I ever took my first lesson.