DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 04-04-2017, 10:50 PM

Default Bad recording experience

Hi guys, first post in a while!

Over the last weekend I have been recording drums for one of my bands EPs which we are hopefully going to use to get gigs - fingers crossed.

However, I must say that as this is my first time recording drums "properly" i.e. fully mic'd up etc. I found it a little bit of an disappointing procedure.

I was so excited to be recording my new Pearl Vision Bop kit, especially to hear the punchy 18" kick, however after I had set everything up the sound engineer came in and noticed the lack of hole in the bass drum, to which he suggested I cut a hole in it there and then! Having spent a lot of time tuning all the drums to suit this particular band, this was not an idea I was overly keen on. So he said something along the lines of "ok fine, we'll do it your way". So, I left the engineer to fit his own mics (didn't really mind this), but when I came back in the room he had completely removed the front skin and taken out the pillow and also had re-tuned the batter head! Naturally I asked why he did it and he responded with "no-one records a bass drum with the front skin on". Ok, fine.

Then he asks - do you really need that second floor tom? I told him obviously yes, he tries to argue me down that it isn't worth his time and I should just pick one and record that. I eventually win that one and get to keep both.