DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 02-20-2017, 03:49 AM

Default Recording drum set with Android

I'm working with a 3 piece original rock band and want to figure out what I need to record and send drum tracks to my band mates. They both have iPhone and I'm on Android. The bass player has the garage band app and was sending me tracks through text/email that he recorded by plugging straight into his phone.

Does anyone know a way this can be done on an Android phone with a mic? I'm wanting to send ideas or play over his tracks if it's possible and be able to send the files back and forth through a phone.

I'm not good with the modern technology, but if there is a way to do this it will be an amazing tool to get ideas on the go out while at your own place.
Old 02-20-2017, 04:24 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Recording drum set with Android

Software wise, there's nothing that is directly compatible with GB. While you can record and export audio files, he'll have to import them on his side, line up tracks, add treatment, etc.... and vice versa. The workflow is bearable for one-offs, but tedious for all involved and not conducive to collaboration.

The only Android app I've worked with (briefly) was Audio Evolution. I did not dislike it, but I do not feel it's a competitive replacement for what Apple is trying to do.

FWIW, I use GB and Logic, and to be able to directly collaborate with a writing partner, in real time over iCloud, has been a godsend.
Old 02-20-2017, 11:03 AM
JohnoWorld

garage band is just one of those things that works if you all have it.

I honestly don't think there's anything on Android that's like it.