DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 01-24-2017, 05:43 PM

Default studio recording

I'm fairly new to the studio drumming world. I've been playing live professionally for over 25+ years and almost always use a metronome or click track when playing. I also always use a click track or metronome when practicing. I'm starting to find that I have a unique problem that I'm not sure how to correct though when I'm in the studio....

During my studio recordings lately my snare drum (left hand) is almost always slightly ahead of the beat and my bass drum (right foot) is almost always slightly behind the beat. Making quantization or beat correction "in the box" a bear to say the least.

Any suggestions on how I might line my left hand and right foot up? I've tried unison patterns, alternating patterns and nothing seems to be helping. Getting frustrated.....
Old 01-24-2017, 06:12 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: studio recording

Try adjusting your grip and your placement of the pedal. That usually fixes micro-timing issues for me.
Old 01-25-2017, 03:42 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ineedaclutch View Post
Try adjusting your grip and your placement of the pedal. That usually fixes micro-timing issues for me.
Yes, good ideas ^^^ to try....

1) Shorten your bass drum beater a bit, and also, make sure your beater isn't travelling past vertical. If it is, raise the resonant side of the bass drum a bit so that the resonant hoop is up off the floor a little. This shortens the bass drum stroke.

2) Hold your left stick a little further back....and maybe try flattening your snare a bit more, and lowering it a bit. This will lengthen your left hand stroke.

Small changes can make a big difference...go easy with it, let us know if it helped.