DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-17-2014, 05:41 PM
Ace's Avatar
Ace Ace is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Default What kind of metronome do you use?

I have noticed there isn't a great deal of discussion about metronomes, as far as I can tell at least. As I am actively reading and learning about metronomes, trying to find exactly what I want, I want to pose this question: What metronome are you using? Whether for practice alone, or something you and your group of friends playing in a band are plugging into so you can all follow the click? Can your metronome be programmed for 8 bars of 3/4 transitioning into 4 bars of 7/4 back to 8 more bars of 3/4 into another set of 7/4 and finally to 4/4?

There seem to be plenty of metronomes out there from the plain and simple to the complex (like, am I going to have to take a class on that, man?) ....

Just curious to see what is working well for others no matter the metronome you're using ^_^
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2014, 06:09 PM
opentune's Avatar
opentune opentune is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,072
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Drum Metronome...its freeware on the web, easy download. I run it off my laptop while practicing.
__________________
Louis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2014, 06:15 PM
Arky's Avatar
Arky Arky is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,048
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Do a search and you'll find countless threads on this.

I have 2 hardware metronomes one of which gave up (Tama Rhythm Watch). The other one is collecting dust most of the time.
For tempo reference I'm using MP3 clicks that came with an online drumming course that I bought - those are 2-minute MP3's in 5 bpm increments covering a huge speed area.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2014, 06:26 PM
Ace's Avatar
Ace Ace is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Haven't considered the computer metronome- there's an idea!
I'll definitely scan through these results from the search engine-doodle and read more on what people are saying. It's a broad topic, haha. Thanks for the suggestions!
__________________
"One cannot have too many snare drums" -Ben Franklin (yep)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2014, 06:43 PM
drumkat's Avatar
drumkat drumkat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 259
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Hi ace

I use a DB-30 (Doctor Beat)

Costs like $35-00AUD and is small and really easy to use

Had a sharp beep

Has most common note groupings...1/4, 1/8, 1/16, triplet 8ths, dotted 16ths and odd groupings

I plug it into my vintage stereo upstairs next to my kit and it boots out a real warm tone
__________________
It's a trap!, It's a trap!....we can't stand firepower of that magnitude! (Admiral Ackbar)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2014, 07:40 PM
Swiss Matthias's Avatar
Swiss Matthias Swiss Matthias is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,657
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

My trusty Boss Dr Beat DB-90 for years.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2014, 07:45 PM
TColumbia37's Avatar
TColumbia37 TColumbia37 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 909
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

I use a Peterson BodyBeat metronome. It's fully programmable . They sucked when they were released, but since they've released patches, I haven't had any problems. Other than that the vibration function is much too subtle to feel when practicing acoustic drums.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-17-2014, 11:10 PM
double_G's Avatar
double_G double_G is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 557
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

same w/ the Peterson BodyBeat. great metronome but my programming setlists / band mate pod set up dreams were never realized. anyone ever done this w/ success ? my setlists changed too often to really use it. plus i wanted name of tunes on each programmed tempo.

my back up is the PolyNome on my iPhone. PolyNome is also great for programming odd rates (& ridiculously slow BPMs). RE rates, when i want to get granular w/ the table of time (Morello) or even weirder polyrhythms. for ex, 10 is 5:2, 14 is 7:2 and 18 is 9:2.

i still have an old (?) Dr. Beat on the shelf for TV pad work.
__________________
Fortune Drums | Bosphorus and Yamaha | Sabian | Zildjian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2014, 06:18 AM
art5 art5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 40
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

I really like my TAMA RW105 & have been using it since I started....
have tried a couple others like KORG ones but still cant beat my RW105.
On my phone I use the app simply called "tempo"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2014, 02:23 PM
cDark3r cDark3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 67
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

I use a app on my Android phone called Metronome Beats. Nothing special.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-19-2014, 03:28 PM
Southpaw99's Avatar
Southpaw99 Southpaw99 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 177
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

For a real Metronome the Tama is a great one for drummers. For basic stuff the computer has free ones and it you have a smartphone they have free apps. They aren't anything special but they work fine.
__________________
Mapex Saturns
DW Collectors & Pearl Reference snares
Sabian AAX & HHX cymbals
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-2014, 03:54 PM
Green Green is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leeds, United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

I've always used physical metronomes (Tama Rhythm Watch and Yamaha Clickstaion), but recently got a brilliant app called Yamaha Metronome on my iPhone. It does everything my Yamaha Clickstation does but cost about 100 less!

Check it out - great features like being able to program in a series of songs and relevant speeds - makes it easy if your playing a bunch of songs to click.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-21-2014, 06:36 AM
kristy kristy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 39
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Actually it seems all the metronome apps (iphone) that I have found seem to be free for the bare-bones basic stuff and pay for the more complex features(believe it runs between $1 and $10 for the paid stuff. Also, I some keyboards have a metronome on them.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-24-2014, 09:08 PM
loki03xlh loki03xlh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

I use a Ludwig branded metronome app on my iPhone. It was free.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-27-2014, 12:34 AM
boltzmann's brain boltzmann's brain is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: aahruhgaahn
Posts: 291
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

mine speeds up and slows down. i hate it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-27-2014, 12:51 AM
Wittwart Wittwart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Tama Rhythm Watch RW105
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-27-2014, 03:44 AM
MrInsanePolack's Avatar
MrInsanePolack MrInsanePolack is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 1,393
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Fruity Loops. Any tempo, any set of groupings, any sounds I want, plus I can make rhythms with it to play along with if I want. I also sometimes use the preset rhythms on my keyboard. Sure beats tick tock tick tock.
__________________
Wanted: GURU 13x7 Segmented English Ash & Ovangkol with Ovangkol Segmented Hoops
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-27-2014, 06:25 PM
longgun's Avatar
longgun longgun is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,330
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittwart View Post
Tama Rhythm Watch RW105
+1..............using this also.....................actually have two

Not sure if you can have different time signatures for 4 bars and then change....................none of the songs I'm playing require that.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-02-2014, 11:25 PM
Wittwart Wittwart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace View Post
Can your metronome be programmed for 8 bars of 3/4 transitioning into 4 bars of 7/4 back to 8 more bars of 3/4 into another set of 7/4 and finally to 4/4?
There are rhythm computers, making sound also.

Is it really too hard to count to 7 or to 3 during some bars?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-24-2014, 01:48 AM
robertinventor robertinventor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Default Re: What kind of metronome do you use?

My Bounce Metronome can do this, here is an example:



More about it here: Programmable Metronome with Automatic Switching of Time Signatures and Tempi (also manual switching with single key press).

You can set any number of measures for each rhythm, set the tempo, also you can do them with accelerating tempi - or a mixture of steady tempi and accelerating tempi.

It's for Windows only (can also run on Linux under Wine). Though I'm hoping to port it to a Mac using a WineSkin / WineBottler, am going to attempt a Kickstarter to raise funds to get a Mac for testing and debugging that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com