DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-08-2014, 05:12 PM
CRBP742 CRBP742 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Default TD-3 for recording.

I currently have a OCDP Venice 4 piece set, and I don't drum half as much as i use to. Im a guitar/bass player, and now days i only drum when i record demos. Im a bit tired of having to deal with the micing and maintenance of an acoustic set. I was wondering if a roland TD-3 would be good choice for me. I choose this set because I've seen them on craigslist going for only $500. This way i would have money left over after selling my kit and all my mics to go toward more guitar gear. Tell me what you guys think.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2014, 05:15 PM
Dr_Watso's Avatar
Dr_Watso Dr_Watso is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,158
Default Re: TD-3 for recording.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRBP742 View Post
I currently have a OCDP Venice 4 piece set, and I don't drum half as much as i use to. Im a guitar/bass player, and now days i only drum when i record demos. Im a bit tired of having to deal with the micing and maintenance of an acoustic set. I was wondering if a roland TD-3 would be good choice for me. I choose this set because I've seen them on craigslist going for only $500. This way i would have money left over after selling my kit and all my mics to go toward more guitar gear. Tell me what you guys think.
I think most of the time you can get away with the toms. The cymbals are another story. They sound fake and lifeless on e-kits, and the td3 is a low-end one at that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2014, 11:59 PM
New Tricks New Tricks is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: TD-3 for recording.

It depends a bit on the music you are recording.

The E's are certainly very easy to use and you can get some EQ help with the recording program. I use a wireless mouse/keyboard and can start/stop recording while sitting behind the kit. Don't like the track? Just kill it and start over. It's often easier than trying to fix something.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2014, 04:54 AM
CRBP742 CRBP742 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Default Re: TD-3 for recording.

@NewTricks I record mostly punk/metal/prog sounding stuff usually with relatively basic drum parts. I use Cubase 5 as my program. Do you think it'd work for this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2014, 04:17 PM
rmandelbaum's Avatar
rmandelbaum rmandelbaum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,041
Default Re: TD-3 for recording.

Just some food for thought, you can use anything that has MID! Record the MIDI and use a program like BFD or Superior Drummer.

That way you get great sounds and you are still playing the tracks
__________________
DW Collectors
Vintage Superstars
Roland TD-20
Misc. Snares
My Web Site
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2014, 11:33 PM
New Tricks New Tricks is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: TD-3 for recording.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRBP742 View Post
@NewTricks I record mostly punk/metal/prog sounding stuff usually with relatively basic drum parts. I use Cubase 5 as my program. Do you think it'd work for this?
Absolutely. All you need to do is find decent and appropriate sounds/settings and you are good to go.

And, all you need to do is play a measure or two accurately then copy/paste :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com