DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-13-2014, 12:22 PM
Moxano Moxano is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scania, Sweden
Posts: 8
Default Newbie to use Superior Drummer with Roland TD6

Hello forums!
I've been using a Roland TD6 KX for a year and recently got Superior Drummer and Toontrack Solo. I've installed all the software and I'm using a USB-->MIDI adapter which is recognized by Windows (using 7 64 bit) and Superior Drummer. Now I just wonder.. how do I get those samples to play while playing the drum kit? I've been trying to figure it out via the user's manual but can't just figure out how. Which MIDI settings should I set in the drum module?

I'd use the V-drums forums but they don't work for my brower(s).

Thanks in advance!
Nisse
__________________
I like you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2014, 12:36 PM
porter's Avatar
porter porter is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,377
Default Re: Newbie to use Superior Drummer with Roland TD6

I don't actually know the answer, but perhaps you could figure out what the MIDI outputs from the TD6 are and assign those in Superior? IIRC it has a piano roll that animates when MIDI inputs are received, though if it doesn't seem to be receiving the TD6 signals, I don't know what to do :(
__________________
Check out my Youtube channel!
I really like Guru Drums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2014, 02:53 AM
kallewille kallewille is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 99
Default Re: Newbie to use Superior Drummer with Roland TD6

I'm surprised that I've actually been able to get my stuff to work! I got a TD-12 and I'm running MIDI to MIDI to a Roland Quad Capture interface. I don't think you need to worry about the MIDI settings on your brain.

First off, is your computer recognizing the brain? I'm running through the interface into my iMac. When you open up Toontrack Solo, do you see the heads changing color when you hit a pad? If you see the various drums light up when you hit a pad but no sound, it may be that you need to change some audio settings either via preferences (mac) or control panel/audio (pc). If it is lighting up, don't worry if the wrong parts are going up when you hit a pad, such as a bass drum going off when you hit your snare, because you can use the learn function to assign instruments to the various pads. I do think Toontrack had Roland in mind when coming up with the program though, so it should have good defaults.

Good luck and let me know if you've made any progress!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2014, 03:07 AM
kallewille kallewille is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 99
Default Re: Newbie to use Superior Drummer with Roland TD6

Ok, I just went through it and I think I found the thing that kept me from getting it to work.

1.) Open toontrack solo.
2.) Superior drummer is the only option I have that comes up, other than to open a pre-existing project. Click ok on Superior Drummer.
3.) When you see view with the drum set come up (Standard view under the main Construct tab), click on the "Mapping" tab at the top; it's the fourth from the left on my window that comes up.
4.) You should see a keyboard at the bottom of the panel. Click on the tab that says "Presets" above it.
5.) Click MIDI/Note Mapping/E-drums.

That should do it. I'm not real good with posting images or screen grabs, but hopefully you'll be able to see what I'm talking about.

Lycka till! Jag såg just nu att du är svensk också!
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2014, 06:10 AM
Drum_Jack Drum_Jack is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Default Re: Newbie to use Superior Drummer with Roland TD6

Hi Nisse,

How have you found the kit? I'm looking at buying one as my first kit. I've only had 4 lessons so far, but dying to bang on stuff at home!

My teacher is keen on me to get the best possible one, but I need to budget and I've found a reasonably priced 2nd hand TD 6KX. He did mention the potential to crack the bass drum stands/supports if using it too vigorously. Have you had any issues?

Cheers!

Jack
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com