DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 02-24-2014, 05:21 PM

Default Beginning

Hello everyone!

My name is John and I am a 22 year old College Student. The other night I went over to my friends house and "jammed". Being musically stunted, or so I thought, "the guys" stuck me on a bongo drum and commanded me to "keep rhythm". Now I must admit that I have had some musical experience. I played Piano as a kid and a little Guitar as an adolescent; in short, rhythm wasn't entirely foreign to me. So we started playing and it turned out to be "one of the best sessions they've ever had". For me the whole night was borderline spiritual and I am inspired to follow that feeling.

I'll keep this part short but recently I've been reading about Religion, and in particular Christianity and Buddhism. What I am discovering is the whole idea behind these Religions is to "lose yourself", the ego, in an understanding that powers beyond the grasp of the human mind are at work. What inspired me most about the drums was how much "I" got lost in them. It was as if I wasn't even playing and whatever came out came from some other place. In the wise words of Radiohead... "I'd be crazy not to follow, follow where you lead." Whatever that feeling was, I am convinced it is both healing and spiritual and I want more of it.

So I come to you guys... The Drummers. Here is my situation: I graduate in May and live a plane flight away from home. Odds are that I won't be staying in College town this summer and will most likely end up back with the rents. Or if I am feeling particularly ambitious, Ill end up with my cousin playing drums on the West Coast (I'm in the East). The thing is, I want to start playing... Now... But I don't have a drum set nor do I know anything about drums. In other words, I need to be enlightened about the "getting started" process.