DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-02-2013, 06:19 PM
Boyres Boyres is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Default Roland spd-sx click track issue

Hi everyone

I'm thinking to get myself a Roland spd-sx in the near future. I only have one question:

Is it possible to make a sub wave with a self made clicktrack and send it to the phones output?
So the main wave goes to the PA and the sub wave to my in ears.

Other solutions are always welcome!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2013, 08:12 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,405
Default Re: Roland spd-sx click track issue

The answer is no, and this is one of my biggest issues with the SPD-SX. Why does the unit have 2 sets of stereo outs, with pads that will trigger 2 sounds, yet both sounds have to come out of the same designated outs? The sounds can't be split!

Well, there is a workaround if you have pads to spare: you can link one pad to another. That is, you strike one pad, it plays its sound, and at the same time it triggers a linked pad that plays its sound. You can send the first pad sounds to one set of outs, and the linked pad sound (your click) to the other. Or in your case, the phones.

It seems like a simple fix for Roland though. The fact that there are 2 sets of outs, and a pad will trigger 2 sounds, but the sounds only go to one set, is kinda shortsighted IMO. I wrote to Tim Root a while back, he's got the ear of the techs in Japan. Maybe there'll be a firmware update down the line?

I have a few issues with this unit, Roland got so close to being truly pro (even the Alesis SamplePad has it beat in some ways.) But, it does what it does well enough. With a few concessions, I made it work for touring purposes. I suppose Roland's response would be 'if you need it to do more, you probably need a software solution'. They may be right. but I still question why there are hardware aspects to the unit - such as 2 stereo outs - that aren't being utilized to their fullest.

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2013, 08:23 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,405
Default Re: Roland spd-sx click track issue

BTW, I don't want to sell the unit too short, with 2g of ram it really allows you a large amount of sample playback - more than 3 hours of stereo sounds at CD quality. But it's more of a pro-sumer unit, I resent that they call it "pro". I don't hate mine, but I definitely settled when I got it.

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2013, 09:30 PM
Boyres Boyres is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Roland spd-sx click track issue

Thanks for the reply! This answer spares a lot of googling for me ;)

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com