DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-27-2013, 09:19 AM
stellar92010 stellar92010 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego, but my home is New Mexico
Posts: 155
Default Studio Set Up With A TD-4K2

Thought I'd share my Electronic Set-Up to show what can be done with an Electronic Kit....

The Kit: Roland TD-4K2, with 4 Pdx-8 and 1 Pdx-125BK mesh pads, C-15Y ride, 3 cy-8 crash, and cy-5 hi hat. An Alesis Trigger I/O module provides extra trieggers.

Software: The pads trigger kits on Addictive Drums. Playback is throught a UAD-2 Solo DSP card. Each AD output channel has a channel strip and equalization. The processed output is sent to an EMU-1616m sound card. The 1616m has 2 aux sends for sending the final mix or individual drums to a dual channel lexicon MX-400 reverb. Final mixes are monitored with an EMU-0404 USB sound card. The addictive Drums runs inside Cubase 5 64 bit.

I also have Reason, but I use it for other things besides drums. Also, I have an EMU Emulator X3 sampler/synthesizer that I can either sample the drums, or trigger addicitonal samples to layer. The audio output of the Roland TD-4s sound module is turned off, unless I select drums to output on its audio channel. which gives me another option for layering.

I built this setup over the years, it originally started as a guitar/vocals/bass recording studio, and evolved into this. the computer (upgraded this summer) is an Intel i3770 with 3 Samsung SSD hard drives and overkill 32Gb of ram. Here are some pics, feel free to ask about any set ups, mixing, sounds, etc.
Attached Images
    
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2013, 09:28 AM
stellar92010 stellar92010 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego, but my home is New Mexico
Posts: 155
Default Re: Studio Set Up With A TD-4K2

couple more pics, since couldnt get them all at once
Attached Images
      

Last edited by stellar92010; 10-27-2013 at 09:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2013, 03:25 PM
Bonzo_CR's Avatar
Bonzo_CR Bonzo_CR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: A Brit living in Switzerland
Posts: 333
Default Re: Studio Set Up With A TD-4K2

Very interesting.

I would like to do something like this myself, but have not had much luck using a simple MIDI to USB converter.

How do you connect it all up? Do you take individual cables from each pad to the Alesis I/O, or use the TD-4 Midi out? And then does the Alesis connect directly to the PC? (via USB, or via another method?)

Would you mind sharing please?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2013, 07:18 AM
stellar92010 stellar92010 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego, but my home is New Mexico
Posts: 155
Default Re: Studio Set Up With A TD-4K2

Here is how I set up the TD-4: I use the midi out and send toms 1, 2, 3, kick, snare, hi-hat, and ride out midi fo the TD-4. Having the bell as well as the ride ping and crash (using a CY-15r pad) uses the ride connection and aux 2 connection on the TD-4, so that uses all the inputs.

Then I take the other 2 cymbals I have (cy-8 pads) the 4th tom, and a percussion pad, and send them to the alesis, which uses the USB like midi.

Now in cubase I can either assign one instance of addictive drums to trigger from both the alesis and td-4, or open 2 instances of addictive drums and have them separate. This is better because then it is easier to map the sounds in. And I can add on more toms,cymbals, etc

On the various drum tracks in cubase then I can assign things like compressors, equalizers, etc, that run on the UAD-2 card. I also create a submix in my soundcard and send it to an outboard reverb unit (lexicon 400). So then I can master onto a number of individual dry and processed tracks, and mix down differently for different sounds. still experiementing.

The latency is good enough that I don't feel a delay. Currently I have to run 14ms on the EMU-1616 soundcard to keep from getting noice, clicks, and sampling problems, but that isnt too bad. So I can play the kit live and have no noticeable latency or triggering. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2013, 03:27 PM
Bonzo_CR's Avatar
Bonzo_CR Bonzo_CR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: A Brit living in Switzerland
Posts: 333
Default Re: Studio Set Up With A TD-4K2

Very cool. Thanks for sharing.

I have a TD-9 with one extra crash connected into the TD-9 brain. I would like to connect it to a laptop to drive a drum VST.

I tried connecting the Midi out via a simple Midi to USB cable for fun with Garageband but it didn't sound very good - sounded like a polyphony issue.

I wonder if it's the Midi-to-USB that's the problem, or the drums in Garageband.

Based on your experience do you think I need something like the Alesis, or is ia simpler midi in/out sufficient ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2013, 06:21 AM
stellar92010 stellar92010 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego, but my home is New Mexico
Posts: 155
Default Re: Studio Set Up With A TD-4K2

I'm not really sure. Based on my limited experience, my TD-4 driving Addictive Drums sounds worlds ahead of any other midi-based stuff i've tried.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2013, 01:41 PM
Bonzo_CR's Avatar
Bonzo_CR Bonzo_CR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: A Brit living in Switzerland
Posts: 333
Default Re: Studio Set Up With A TD-4K2

OK well thanks for the pointers. I will see what I can sort out. Cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com