DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-20-2013, 06:59 PM
joshhlegg joshhlegg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 47
Default FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

Hi everyone,

I am looking to start recording my drums soonish, and I need a firewire audio interface with at least 8 mic inputs. At the moment I am leaning towards a Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, but that's just because I don't really know any other audio interfaces. Can anyone who owns this interface give me some feedback on it? And are there any other nice recording devices that are under $1000?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2013, 07:15 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,669
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

MOTU (Mark of the Unicorn) makes pro gear at decent prices, the 828 (one version or another) is quite popular with 8 ins & outs, FW, usb, midi, digital, optical, everything. New price is maybe US$700, but used is a good option from a reliable seller.

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2013, 07:52 PM
BacteriumFendYoke's Avatar
BacteriumFendYoke BacteriumFendYoke is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,368
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bermuda View Post
MOTU (Mark of the Unicorn) makes pro gear at decent prices, the 828 (one version or another) is quite popular with 8 ins & outs, FW, usb, midi, digital, optical, everything. New price is maybe US$700, but used is a good option from a reliable seller.

Bermuda
Focusrite make good gear but MOTU (such a cool acronym) make seriously good gear. Bermuda's judgement is right.
__________________
Bring Me Coffee or Tea
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2013, 08:19 PM
longgun's Avatar
longgun longgun is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

I'm using a Presonus 26x26 Firestudio.................does the job and I picked it up for $300
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2013, 11:55 AM
joshhlegg joshhlegg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 47
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

Bermuda, thanks for the suggestion but the MOTU 828 only has 2 mic inputs and the 896 is just a bit too expensive for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2013, 11:57 AM
joshhlegg joshhlegg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 47
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by longgun View Post
I'm using a Presonus 26x26 Firestudio.................does the job and I picked it up for $300
On the PreSonus website I can only find a Firestudio Project 10x10, there is no 26x26. Are they similar and would you recommend PreSonus? Pros and cons?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2013, 03:24 PM
longgun's Avatar
longgun longgun is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshhlegg View Post
On the PreSonus website I can only find a Firestudio Project 10x10, there is no 26x26. Are they similar and would you recommend PreSonus? Pros and cons?

Thanks!
I think the firestudio 26x26 has been discontinued. I've read that the focusrite and MOTU have better reputations, but prsonus is pretty solid for the money IMO.

I am, by no means, an expert when it comes to this stuff, so take my advice with a grain of salt. I've only had a few issues with the firestudio................but were easily corrected.

I'd google and read as much as you can.

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2013, 03:32 PM
Xero Talent's Avatar
Xero Talent Xero Talent is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 872
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

Just get a TASCAM 1800? Not firewire, but I've never had an issue via USB.
__________________
Yamaha | Paiste | Pro•Mark
youtube | gear | facebook | soundcloud
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2013, 04:10 PM
Florian's Avatar
Florian Florian is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 945
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

+1 on the Tascam....worked fine for me.

F
__________________
Sonor Ascent & SQ2
Paiste/UFIP/Evans/Vater/Pearl
Porter and Davies
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2013, 01:18 AM
joshhlegg joshhlegg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 47
Default Re: FireWire Interface with 8 inputs?

Thanks for the suggestions guys.

But I have a found a Motu interface that is just right for me that has 8Pres. Thanks Bermuda for letting me know about the brand.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com