DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 08-20-2013, 12:02 AM

Default Striking the Hi Hat

Just looking for some thoughts on this subject...I've been playing for 15 years, and I know how to correctly strike a cymbal, but for me there is this slight grey area when it comes to striking the hi hat. Specifically, when playing big, chunky open hi hat quarter note or eighth note patterns. I find that it feels pretty natural to hit the hi hats straight on (not using a glancing blow) in the "hands crossed" position. Thusly, every couple years or so I end up cracking a top hi hat cymbal.

I've searched and haven't found a lot of info on the "correct" way of striking the hi hat cymbals. Do you use a glancing blow when playing your hats? anyone else run into this problem at some point?
Old 08-20-2013, 12:09 AM

Default Re: Striking the Hi Hat

I can't answer your question, I just popped in here to comment that the more I read these forums, the less qualified I feel. I have never even thought about this. Came to improve my chops after a long layoff, now I'm not even sure I know how to strike a drum or a cymbal.

Great question though, will follow with interest.
Old 08-20-2013, 12:17 AM

Straight on for me, at least when I'm playing a groove (probably because there's successive hits that depend on rebound?) with my dominant hand.

Sounds kinda sexy doesn't it?

Glancing blows if the snare is getting some either before or after...

Steph
Old 08-20-2013, 12:28 AM
Administrator

I think a lot depends on how opened or closed they are at the time of hitting. If you go sloshy like Ringo in days of old they are loose and will displace some energy. Pushed closed entirely they may fight back.
Old 08-20-2013, 12:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRUNTERSDAD View Post