DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-22-2014, 12:06 AM
EssKayKay EssKayKay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 25
Default Focusrite Scarlett 2i2- Noisy?

I have question on the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Audio Interface. Presumably, it greatly reduces latency which is exactly what Iím looking for. However, Iíve read there are other concerns with the unit, namely clicking, crackling, and other noise issues. Are any of you experiencing any of this?

My system includes a Roland TD-11KV, HP Pavilion laptop (i5, 8GB RAM, SSD), and Addictive Drums 2 (considering BFD3).

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/geeks...-problems.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2014, 12:22 AM
MikeM's Avatar
MikeM MikeM is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,625
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2- Noisy?

I have one of these that I run my guitar through and it kinda sucks because I need to turn the guitar's volume down so it doesn't clip, which makes the signal less hot than the guitar is normally, and the input gain is all the way down. That seems to be a common complaint, but fixable with a separate DI to reduce instrument signal down to mic levels. You'd think that wouldn't be an issue with something designed for this purpose ... I haven't had any noise issues though.
__________________
><Darwin> Recent band.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2014, 02:08 AM
EssKayKay EssKayKay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 25
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2- Noisy?

I guess by noise I mean clipping. Please excuse my ignorance but what do you mean by DI?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2014, 04:46 PM
Jeff Almeyda's Avatar
Jeff Almeyda Jeff Almeyda is offline
Senior Consultant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2- Noisy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EssKayKay View Post
I guess by noise I mean clipping. Please excuse my ignorance but what do you mean by DI?
DI means "direct input"
__________________
Either you have a purpose behind your expression... or you don't.
JoJo Mayer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2014, 05:33 PM
MatrixClaw MatrixClaw is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 123
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2- Noisy?

Unless you're physically recording the audio from your Roland set, it's not clipping. Sounds like a driver issue to me - is your system optimized to record audio? Try lowering the buffer rate a tad, as well.

The 2i2 is a good interface, but as Mike said, it has some issues with the instrument inputs - which is why it's mostly suggested that you buy the 2i4 instead, as it has pads on the inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2014, 05:56 PM
EssKayKay EssKayKay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 25
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2- Noisy?

I Haven't purchased it yet, I was just wondering about some of the other issues.

Thanks all,
SKK
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2014, 06:01 PM
Brian Brian is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 627
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2- Noisy?

I have the Scarlet 2i2 and an older Roland TD-12. It's a great combo, no issues. It does take some tweaking of settings and levels though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2014, 07:10 PM
EssKayKay EssKayKay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 25
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2- Noisy?

Brian,
What drum software are you using?

Steve K.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com