DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Drums

Drums All about Drums and Drum Kits

Old 06-06-2013, 01:48 PM

Default How does the dimensions and material of the drum shell affect the sound?

I'm a drummer in training, and my instructor hasn't explained anything about this yet, so can anyone help me out here?

How does the diameter and depth, as well as the type of material used in the drum affect the sounds?
Old 06-06-2013, 02:00 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: How does the dimensions and material of the drum shell affect the sound?

Hi and welcome to the forum!

This is the perfect moment to get familiar with and use the search function.
You will find tons of info on all those questions.
Old 06-06-2013, 02:02 PM

Default Re: How does the dimensions and material of the drum shell affect the sound?

Good lord, mate! That's like asking how an internal combustion engine works. Or how they built the first airplane.

So much to know, and so much that has been covered already.

The 'search' function is a great way to begin.

I hate to be short with you, but this has been covered exhaustively. And in my opinion very thoroughly. Think of key words and get into it!
Old 06-13-2013, 01:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnygrabber View Post
Good lord, mate! That's like asking how an internal combustion engine works. Or how they built the first airplane.

So much to know, and so much that has been covered already.

The 'search' function is a great way to begin.

I hate to be short with you, but this has been covered exhaustively. And in my opinion very thoroughly. Think of key words and get into it!
Wow,a little high strung are ya?A new drummer asking a question give him a break dude or he will probably leave the forum and not learn anything here
Old 06-13-2013, 02:17 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by usetheforce View Post