DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-09-2013, 11:32 PM
Al Scribani Al Scribani is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 26
Default Roland SPD-S multiple songs

Hello.

So, I'm considering buying an SPD-S pad and was trying to find out the following (can't seem to find the answers online):

Are you able to load different sounds onto the pads for different songs. Basically, if in a gig you need the pads for different applications in different songs... Are you able to set up the sounds beforehand and merely press something on the pad to change song? I hope this makes sense.

Secondly, is it possible to use the pad basically as a metronome when it's being used for the pads? Or can a metronome be plugged into an aux input?

I appreciate any help :)
__________________
Drumming for Your glory
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2013, 11:16 AM
Jeff Almeyda's Avatar
Jeff Almeyda Jeff Almeyda is offline
Senior Consultant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,219
Default Re: Roland SPD-S multiple songs

I know it has the metronome function.

I can't imagine it not having the ability to change programs as well.
__________________
Either you have a purpose behind your expression... or you don't.
JoJo Mayer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2013, 11:35 AM
Naigewron's Avatar
Naigewron Naigewron is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,036
Default Re: Roland SPD-S multiple songs

Yes, you can set up several pad setups. So for one song you use bank 1, which gives you nine pads to play with, and then for the next song you change to bank 2, which can assigne completely different sounds to the same pads. I can't remember how many banks are available, but I'm assuming somewhere between 30 and 50.

The metronome function on the SPD-S is only for recording; there's no way to use it when playing back a sample. It does have an aux input though, so you can connect an external metronome source.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2013, 02:14 PM
Al Scribani Al Scribani is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 26
Default Re: Roland SPD-S multiple songs

Awesome! Thanks so much for the help. I think a DB90 plugged into the aux would do the trick perfectly.
__________________
Drumming for Your glory
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2013, 03:25 PM
Blackstone Blackstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 66
Default Re: Roland SPD-S multiple songs

Another solution for your click needs on the spd s....create a small one measure loop of a click track and run it that way. so hit pad 1 and it starts a loop that is your click.

I only have the SX but Im pretty sure the S is the same. 100 kits. But with the S you can play waves off of a compact flash card. so I believe your # of kits is really unlimited.

The spd sx you can run the metronome to your phones while not recording. and you have volume control of it and can have many combinations of output.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2013, 04:45 PM
Naigewron's Avatar
Naigewron Naigewron is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,036
Default Re: Roland SPD-S multiple songs

By the way, one thing I didn't consider in my last post: If you run a metronome through the aux input, it will also be output through the main outs along with everything else. As far as I know, there's no way to dedicate something to only go to the headphone out. So you'll probably not want to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2013, 07:56 PM
Shedboyxx's Avatar
Shedboyxx Shedboyxx is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 689
Default Re: Roland SPD-S multiple songs

Along the same lines of what Blackstone says:

You can create a WAV of the entire song you are playing with music panned to one side and the recorded click panned to the other side.

This assumes you recorded a click with the song you are using. You bounce all tracks (except the click) to a mono Master track and the click to it's own track. You then pan them both hard to opposite sides and export that as a stereo WAV.

HTH

Jim
__________________
"Time...to Unpimp......Ze Auto ....huuuuuh"

Jim Martin Music
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com