DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-27-2013, 12:52 AM
jwark jwark is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default Recording my Yamaha dtx500 - how?

Hello!

First of all, let me say I have no experience at all recording audio in any capacity. I've been into 2 different guitar centers and called yamaha. I can't seem to get any answers. I just want to record and playback my drums. I don't care about editing. I'm nearly at the point of just putting a microphone up to it and recording it...heh.

What is the simplest way to record? I bough an m-audio uno midi to usb interface. It doesn't seem to do anything. The midi light on it doesn't light up at all when it's plugged in. Cakewalk sonar software won't see it at all. I got desperate and plugged the line out from the drum brain straight into my microphone in jack on my sound card. That recorded but the volume level was incredibly low. So low I had to increase the gain 10,000 percent to even hear it (of course it was full of white noise and distortion, completely horrible.)

Do you have to actually enable the midi out or something? It's like it's not working at all and I don't know why.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2013, 04:06 AM
wildbill wildbill is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 3,348
Default Re: Recording my Yamaha dtx500 - how?

Wow - where to start?

First of all, midi is not audio. You use the midi out to connect to an external device like a computer or another module to trigger sounds from those.

To record audio, you use the audio out jacks. If you're using a computer, you need an audio interface. Connect cables from the audio out jacks to the interface, select the interface in the recording program, set levels, and record enable the tracks you want to use.

But first and foremost - read the manuals.

Then do some research on audio interfaces, and the rest of everything involved. It's not easy starting at the beginning, but that's where everyone starts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2013, 04:39 AM
New Tricks New Tricks is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: Recording my Yamaha dtx500 - how?

It's pretty basic.


Module output (headphone or output jack) to recorder input.

The module side is simple as there should only be one control for the output level, probably a knob.

You must be having issues on the Cakewalk/Sonar side. You will need to dig into it to find out how to set the input settings.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2013, 02:34 AM
jwark jwark is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default Re: Recording my Yamaha dtx500 - how?

So after hours on the phone with tech support I got the m-audio drivers installed. Apparently they said the cd they gave me was the wrong one.

So now cakewalk sees it but I still get nothing registering. The midi lights on the midi to usb device still does not light up. They said they don't know what it is. It's not a cakewalk problem. I've tried 4 different software apps none of them will see I am actually playing anything. They also just had me run some diagnostic software called midi-ox, it doesn't see anything either.

Is there something on the dtx500 you have to switch on for midi to start sending?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2013, 09:16 PM
DTX Product Specialist DTX Product Specialist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
Default Re: Recording my Yamaha dtx500 - how?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwark View Post
So after hours on the phone with tech support I got the m-audio drivers installed. Apparently they said the cd they gave me was the wrong one.

So now cakewalk sees it but I still get nothing registering. The midi lights on the midi to usb device still does not light up. They said they don't know what it is. It's not a cakewalk problem. I've tried 4 different software apps none of them will see I am actually playing anything. They also just had me run some diagnostic software called midi-ox, it doesn't see anything either.

Is there something on the dtx500 you have to switch on for midi to start sending?

Remember the DTX500 module sends the MIDI data on MIDI Channel 10 so make sure the apps are set to receive on that channel.

Regards,
DTX Product Specialist
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com