DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-25-2013, 07:05 PM
synergy's Avatar
synergy synergy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rochester NY via London UK
Posts: 297
Default Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility

I just got hold of a used Yamaha DTxplorer and just had a couple of questions concerning forward and backward compatibilities.

I know over time things stop working etc so I wondered if the module dies on me would I be able to pick up a newer model module and would my original pads work ok?

and the flip side of that- if I have pad issues, will buying new pads work well with the older module?

I'm not looking to try to get 3zone triggering out a moduel that can only handle 1 etc- just want to know if Yamaha make their gear so that they can trigger or be triggered by newer equipment

thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2013, 10:50 PM
Reggae_Mangle's Avatar
Reggae_Mangle Reggae_Mangle is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Away in India
Posts: 591
Default Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility

The DTXplorer line has now been replaced. That said, some of the pads used on the newer lines can be used on them, while others can't. There should be a compatibility chart on Yamaha's website. Or just contact customer support if you want to be double sure.

- Reggae Mangle
__________________
"... As war machine, crushes their balls, God have mercy..."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2013, 01:48 AM
scorch whammin's Avatar
scorch whammin scorch whammin is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Savannah, GA USA
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility

You should be okay staying within the brand...the only new pads that may not trigger as well with your module would be the new TCS (textured cellular silicone) pads from Yamaha, and even they would probably work out ok if you increased the gain in your module....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2013, 05:27 PM
synergy's Avatar
synergy synergy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rochester NY via London UK
Posts: 297
Default Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility

thanks guys, I understand the Xplorer's brain is limited etc- wasnt thinking I could piece together a $3000 kit from a 5 year old brain etc...

Just wanted to see if anything goes wrong I could just buy new or if I would need to dive into ebay/cl etc to find misc parts

Thanks for the info- might have to contact Yamaha and get more detailed info from the 'horses mouth'
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2013, 07:35 AM
Defender's Avatar
Defender Defender is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 195
Default Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility

Just to add, Yamaha's Customer Service is freakin top notch! I know from personal experience.
__________________
See my PDP Concept Maple at http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...d.php?t=117040
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2013, 01:36 AM
wildbill wildbill is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 3,543
Default Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post

....I'm not looking to try to get 3zone triggering out a moduel that can only handle 1 etc- just want to know if Yamaha make their gear so that they can trigger or be triggered by newer equipment...

I think that's probably the biggest issue - the number of triggers some inputs will accept, and the number of triggered zones on a pad.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com