DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-07-2013, 10:03 PM
kars2010 kars2010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 31
Default How to add a cymbal to Yamaha Dtx500 module

Hi everyone, I want to add a cymbal to my Yamaha DTX560k. How exactly can I do that? Will I be able to give each cymbal its own sound? And will they both be single zoned?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2013, 02:54 AM
Defender's Avatar
Defender Defender is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 178
Default Re: How to add a cymbal to Yamaha Dtx500 module

Ok. Here's the deal. With your DTX 500 module, you can add up too 4 additional single zone pads.

On my kit, I've added an extra mounted tom and an extra floor tom, so my set is equivalent to a 7 piece kit. I've also added an additional cymbal, which is single zone (but hey, when I hit a crash cymbal, I really only use it for its crashing abilities anyway). The additional cymbal also will not be chokable.

Also, for myself, I had an issue with my snare pad top layer getting some small bubbles in it. Without missing a beat, Yamaha sent me a brand new 12" snare pad and told me not to worry about sending the old one back. So, I've removed the 3 zone capability from my other cymbal and use it on my other snare pad, effectively turning it into a 3 zone effects pad.

So, I've got a 7 piece kit, with 3 cymbals and 1 3 zone effects pad.

BTW, if you just want to expand to one more cymbal, you can plug it into the back of the bass drum output. But if you want to add more pads later, you'll have to buy the "stereo plug that comes out to a left and a right mono"

Peace, Defender
__________________
See my PDP Concept Maple at http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...d.php?t=117040
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2013, 04:34 PM
kars2010 kars2010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 31
Default Re: How to add a cymbal to Yamaha Dtx500 module

Hey Defender thanks for all the great info man. I didn't know it was that simple.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2014, 08:14 PM
rjw rjw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default Re: How to add a cymbal to Yamaha Dtx500 module

I'm kind of in the same boat

I have a 562 kit and looking for best way to interface my pcy 100 2 zone cymbal

thx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com