DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Pedals

Pedals Discuss Pedals

Old 02-28-2013, 11:42 PM
Senior Consultant

Default Where the slave beater strikes...

Some double pedals, such as the Pearls, are designed so that the primary and the slave beater both strike off-center.

Others, such as Axis, are designed so that the primary strikes dead center and only the slave is offset.

Has anyone ever found out whether this has any effect on the sound? Does the off-center method produce a more even sound and volume than the primary-center method? Or is it all the same at speed?

I am assuming here that the drummer is NOT triggering. (and not going overboard on compression)

Studio engineers, drum builders, gear heads, I would love to hear what you've found.
Old 03-01-2013, 11:12 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Where the slave beater strikes...

Jeff, I'm no expert on pedals, but I can answer your question regarding striking position. Striking the very center of the head delivers the cleanest fundamental note. The further you move away from center, the more you involve higher tones. On bass drums, you only need to move a small distance from center to get a distinctly different sound & response from the drum. Sometimes, moving away from center is used to offer benefit. For example, if you're a player who buries the beater, moving off center (in any direction) will offer a touch more head sustain.

I hope this helps,

Andy.
Old 03-04-2013, 05:18 AM
Silver Member

I've got speed cobras. They are adjustable in this respect, and I've struggled with trying to get identical sound from each beater. I think Andy's right.
Old 03-05-2013, 01:45 AM