DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:07 PM
Souljacker Souljacker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 440
Default Replacing Rubber Pads on Roland

Does anyone know if the rubber pads can be replaced on the Roland TD9 with alternative brands?

I'm looking for mesh heads as I dislike the rubber pads but the Roland mesh pads are really expensive. Are there other brands that have cheaper mesh pads that actually work as a direct replacement for the roland rubber pads?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2013, 11:27 PM
rmandelbaum's Avatar
rmandelbaum rmandelbaum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,042
Default Re: Replacing Rubber Pads on Roland

You should be fine,but considder that you will most likley end up having to tweak settings in the brain to get the pads to trigger correctly.

I beleve YAMAHA pads are wired the opposite way, at least I think i remeber something about that.

I know Hart Dynamics has the settings figured out for thier drums on the various roland brains.
__________________
DW Collectors
Vintage Superstars
Roland TD-20
Misc. Snares
My Web Site
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2013, 12:02 PM
Souljacker Souljacker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 440
Default Re: Replacing Rubber Pads on Roland

Don't know if Hart Dynamics are available where I live.

How about Alesis pads maybe? Anyone know anything about them?

Or even if they were cheap mesh heads of any generic brand that worked fine with the rolands settings.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2013, 12:59 AM
Shedboyxx's Avatar
Shedboyxx Shedboyxx is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 690
Default Re: Replacing Rubber Pads on Roland

If cost is an issue and you are a bit handy then I have a suggestion.

Go to http://vdrums.com and search around specifically in the DIY area.

I didn't spend much time there but I'm positive others have posted solutions to building your own triggers.
__________________
"Time...to Unpimp......Ze Auto ....huuuuuh"

Jim Martin Music
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2013, 01:07 AM
Dr_Watso's Avatar
Dr_Watso Dr_Watso is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: Replacing Rubber Pads on Roland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Souljacker View Post
Does anyone know if the rubber pads can be replaced on the Roland TD9 with alternative brands?

I'm looking for mesh heads as I dislike the rubber pads but the Roland mesh pads are really expensive. Are there other brands that have cheaper mesh pads that actually work as a direct replacement for the roland rubber pads?
You're fine with almost any piezo based trigger... There are tons of settings in the modules to work out any x-talk or sensitivity problems. As already stated, go to vdrums.com for more help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com