DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-01-2013, 05:38 PM
Carl1969 Carl1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Default SPDSX click set up with sample

Ok we are up and running, but not I have a new question. Can the spdx be set to start the click and the sample at the same time. Lets say I have a backing keyboard track ( Bon Jovi Living on a prayer (I know)) the Keys intro is a fade in and its hard to guess when to come in without a click. Is there a way upon trigger that intro that the click be activated?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2013, 08:59 PM
New Tricks New Tricks is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

Just record a closed HH track and put it on the sub.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:44 AM
Carl1969 Carl1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

that makes sense, now I will have to go back to the manual.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2013, 04:47 AM
Blackstone Blackstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 66
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

I've read in forums(haven't tried it because I don't need it) but I think you can record/sample one measure of the click at the needed tempo. And then loop it. That way you're not wasting a huge file with just a click track. Then link the pads to start together. You'll need to edit this on a computer though.

I'd like to know if this works.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2013, 12:14 PM
Carl1969 Carl1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

I like the idea of just making my own in the Sub section however does anyone know of any youtube videos on this subject.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2013, 12:26 PM
Naigewron's Avatar
Naigewron Naigewron is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,036
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackstone View Post
I've read in forums(haven't tried it because I don't need it) but I think you can record/sample one measure of the click at the needed tempo. And then loop it. That way you're not wasting a huge file with just a click track. Then link the pads to start together. You'll need to edit this on a computer though.

I'd like to know if this works.
That would mean that the click is sent to the PA, which means that the audience can hear it, unless the sample is mono and panned to one side (and the click to the other).

The loop length would have to be 100% accurate too, to avoid it slowly drifting out of sync with the sample.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2013, 04:07 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,741
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl1969 View Post
I like the idea of just making my own in the Sub section however does anyone know of any youtube videos on this subject.
The "sub" doesn't work the way you'd hope it would, despite there being a "sub" sound for each pad, and a "sub" output. It's misleading, and they're unrelated.

What you can do is link a pad with another pad. One pad triggers a sample and goes to the main outs, and the linked pad firse at the same time and sends its sample - a click let's say - to the sub out, which can go just to you.

I'm not sure if you can make the linked pad a trigger input, so you don't lose a playing surface pad in the process. Seems like you could, although there are a few things the SPD-SX seems like it should do, but doesn't.

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2013, 11:09 PM
New Tricks New Tricks is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

Quote:
Originally Posted by bermuda View Post
The "sub" doesn't work the way you'd hope it would, despite there being a "sub" sound for each pad, and a "sub" output. It's misleading, and they're unrelated.

. Seems like you could, although there are a few things the SPD-SX seems like it should do, but doesn't.

Bermuda
Yeah. One thing is that the subs don't loop.

It sounded like he recorded a non rhythmic sequence and just needed a 1 2 3 4 click at some point at/toward . If that is the case, he can just add another track via his recording software. If he puts it on a sub, he will have a separate volume control for the "click"

To assign a wav file to a sub, simply drag it into the sub (each pad has one) on the SPD software. You will have to make all othe radjustments on the unit. The software only downloads wavs and assigns them.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2013, 12:21 PM
Carl1969 Carl1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

Thanks, that makes sense, space on the surface is the least of my worries at this point, The main goal is to be able to play a 3-4 minute sample and link it to the click for live performances.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2013, 02:00 AM
New Tricks New Tricks is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

I just listened to the song and an I can hear the tempo toward the end of the synth part.

If you want to hear it better, just make the accented parts a little louder. There is also some kind of tamborine/bell part that comes in with the bass. You could just make that part come in earlier.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-09-2013, 01:20 AM
Carl1969 Carl1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

is it posible to trigger two pads together by only hitting one (connected pads) and send one to main and the other to the headphones?

Last edited by Carl1969; 01-09-2013 at 01:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-09-2013, 01:31 AM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,741
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

You can hit one pad, trigger it and another, and have them go to separate outputs, including headphones only. But, the phones always get the entire output. The options are Master & phones, or Sub & phones, or phones. That is to say, you will have everything in the phones all the time, so hopefully you don't mind hearing what's going to the other outputs.

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-09-2013, 01:49 AM
Carl1969 Carl1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

it the trigger it to another pad that I'm having problems with. I have two pads, one going to master the other (click) going to phones. I just need to get them both to link.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:29 AM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,741
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

Choose Menu, Kit, and Pad Link should be an option there. BTW, when pads are linked, you can hit/trigger either one to get both sounds.

This stuff is in the manual... :)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-09-2013, 03:05 AM
Carl1969 Carl1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

Thanks! Got it. We are all set.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-12-2013, 05:55 AM
Carl1969 Carl1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Default Re: SPDSX click set up with sample

Ok new question, sampleing, I can hear the signal through my headphones but nothing is registering on the spdsx level indicator. whats wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com