DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 12-21-2012, 03:04 PM

Default Recommended Audio Interface

Which audio interface would you guys recommend for hooking up an e-kit to my PC? Something relatively inexpensive. There's so many choices out there, just curious which ones I should be looking at and which ones to avoid. I have no experience doing this whatsoever! Looking forward to using Superior Drummer 2.0!
Old 12-22-2012, 12:25 AM

Default Re: Recommended Audio Interface

I would recommend the one I currently use. MOTU Audio Express.
It is a brand with a good reputation and this model is inexpensive.
Old 12-22-2012, 02:35 AM

I assume you'll be taking a MIDI out from your e-kit to the audio interface (it's really the only sensible thing to do). So, the good news is, you can go pretty cheap and still do well. As far as electronics go, MIDI is pretty simple. With most audio interfaces, the prices go up for more sophisticated preamps and converters. You won't be using preamps at all, and you'll only be using the output (digital to analog) converters, which are not as pricey or sensitive as the input (analog to digital) converters. Of course, all this gets much more complicated if you want to record live audio, e.g. a real cymbal, vocals, etc.