DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 12-17-2012, 11:17 PM

Default Help with selecting heads

I'm a new drummer and I recently picked up a used Pearl Forum set that was just over a year old but in very good condition for a great price. I switched the stock batter and reso heads for coated Evans G2 on top, and clear G1s on the reso side for all of my toms. I've tried tuning them, and even had a drum instructor tune them for me but I am still not satisfied with the sound I am getting out of them. My toms ring quite a bit, with lots of overtones (even with moon gels). I actually preferred the stock clear batter heads. Any recommendations or maybe I'm just not tuning them correctly... Cheers!
Old 12-18-2012, 12:52 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Help with selecting heads

Hi! Firstly, welcome to the forums and to drumming in general.

What you are probably hearing, now that you have new, top-quality heads on there, is the actual character of the drum. Keep in mind a few things: Drums ring. It's what they do. That ring and sustain is what cuts through to your audience. In many genres of music, the tom sounds you hear on CDs are heavily processed, gated, decayed, and otherwise treated. If you were live in the studio, you would hear them sounding very similar to yours. Also, what you hear behind the drums is very different than what your audience hears when guitars and bass are crunching.

Have your teacher play the drums while you are standing 15 to 20 feet away, if possible. It will be informative.

If you simply can't stand the sound while practicing alone, try studio rings. I use them myself when practicing or in low volume, acoustic gigs. You might also opt for a more muffled head such as EC2s or Pinstripes.