DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 12-16-2012, 08:59 AM

Default Good Electronic Kit for Relatively Cheap

First and foremost, hi. First post.
I would like some advice on an electronic drum kit to buy. Living in an apartment, not being able to play my acoustic kit kills me. But I also work at Walmart (hooray) so I can't afford a lot. I've been looking at kits priced around $350 like the Alesis DM6. I hear it has problems with double bass pedals. So I have a few questions:

What would be a good kit for this price?

How modular are electronic kits? Like can I just buy random stuff and add it on?

How can I connect it to my PC?

Would I be able to plug it into my stereo via auxiliary input?

Really any advice is welcome, I'm a complete noob when it comes to electronic kits.
Old 12-16-2012, 09:53 AM

Default Re: Good Electronic Kit for Relatively Cheap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lanlan View Post

How modular are electronic kits? Like can I just buy random stuff and add it on?

Really any advice is welcome, I'm a complete noob when it comes to electronic kits.
I had a Simmons Kit (Guitar Center Brand) for about 3 or 4 years before I bought my Yamaha Kit. I would say that it held up nicely for what it was. The triggering isnt the greatest, so dont plan on doing any super fast snare rolling and such, but it worked for what it was.

About adding on... good luck with that. I dont think my Simmons kit had any additional inputs for additional pads. And with most of the Roland Kits, they use a proprietary plug and allow one additional pad (cymbal usually) to be added. My Yamaha 535K allows me to add up to 4 single zone pads, so that's exactly what I've done, but most normally priced units dont allow that much expansion.

Some have USB and some dont. You'll have to look at that yourself to see if it's worth the extra money.