Orchestral percussionists?

jesse1322

Are there any orchestral percussionists around here?

I've been looking for a forum just for orchestral percussionists for talking about equipment and music. I've got no luck though.. So, I thought i'd just check here!

Are there any other orchestral percussionists out there!?

Yes. I have been playing orchestral literature since college (1970) and have been playing with the same community orchestra for over 25 years. I am the principal (by attrition) and the tympanist. I'd be glad to discuss equipment and music with you.

One right here! Haven't played much orchestral rep (other than etudes and just running through pieces) since college though.

i was principal with the new york city symphony for 4 years a couple lifetimes ago.

but flag your stuff as classical or something, so we see it.

i'm a big fan of innovative percussion, but not exclusively.

Played a season with my local orchestra on some auxilliary stuff.

Played suspended cymbal for my school's orchestra once. Had a moment during the performance where I was going, oh crap oh crap shes signalling me not the guy next to me. I missed the entire measure. I still feel like shes pissed at me for it some days.

Very cool! I honestly didn't expect too many responses, but this is great!

What kind of rep have you played? Any play chamber rep? Solo work? Ensemble?

Snare, marimba, vibes, multi?

I'm in college, and I don't really have too many people (13 or so people in our perc. Studio here) to talk to about rep and stuff.

I play in the same school band as kyle. Iv been playing in band for years. Mostly Tympani, I also enjoy some accessory and Mallet work.

Largely a drum set player, but I do a lot of musical theatre work that requires me to take an orchestral approach now and again. I studied with some orchestral guys as well. As I was just saying in another thread, I'd love to see some less drumset-centric talk around here. Looks like we have a quorum! Let's roll!