Making very little progress..

TColumbia37

Silver Member
I've been practicing rudiments lately, as I know they will be useful. I am completely self taught, and just played because it was fun, not because I thought I would ever be great at it. Well, now I'm trying to become great at it. The problem is, no matter how much I seem to practice any rudiment, nothing sticks.

I progress fairly quickly in the time that I am practicing, and am actually shocked by how much progress I make in that time. The problem is, when I come back to it the next time, it's like I'm starting completely over. Nothing has stuck.

For instance, this last time, I was focusing on left hand. Mainly practicing paradiddles and double stroke rolls, leading with the left hand, and making sure I'm playing with good technique to get the ideal amount of bounce. I progressed immensely from when I had started to when I finished. That made me confident. I came back to it a few days later, and it's like I just forgot everything.

Of course, I didn't actually forget how to. It's just that my body didn't seem to be capable of doing what my brain was telling it, even though, I had done it many times before.

This seems to be the case, no matter how many times I practice something. If it doesn't come easily to me, I try my best to work at it, but I never get any better.

I actually just saw a related thread about double bass playing.

Anyhow, tips? Am I missing something? Paying for a good teacher is a bit out of the question right now. Money is tight.

Well, one tip I got is that you came back to it a few days later. I think, if you want to get great, you are going to need to practice more than that. Repetitions make a lot of difference, too, so even if you don't start a practice session where you left off the last, over time you will still improve.

There's no substitute for putting in the hours, and doing it over the long haul.