Opinion on Stick Grip-by T. Bruce Wittet

There are so many great drummers with different takes on grip. I like the notion of 'how not to grip a stick' as oppose to 'how to grip a stick.' IMO, to each his own. As long as you're not hurting your hands and you're achieving your desired results. I haven't read this before. Thanks for posting.

I should point out that when the article first appeared there was quite a bit of negative feedback so in the next issue they had opinions from several well know drummers and as it turns out that in the course of one tune,particularly a modern jazz one that they will have used at least 3 to 4 grips in the execution of that tune. I'm kind of stuck in my ways because I am self taught but I have switched to the second finger grip in order not to tire out.

Very interesting. I agree in that regard. I use different grips and techniques routinely dependent upon the situation. My grips have certainly evolved through the years as well. I really relate to being stuck in one's own ways but being open minded here can be a good thing too. I've changed things about my grips (and techniques) I never thought I would have and can say I'm glad I did. I've also made changes to these things only to go right back to what I was doing. Not everything works for everyone.

yea this is good. and the site is good! thanks. and particularly we're always discussing this left hand. i know it's a personal mission of mine to really try achieving as universal of a grip as possible(i know what you're saying about the 3 or 4 changes in one tune, and i'm not all wild about it).

i saw your six bombers oneguy. i see you are still fast. good luck on your mission too.