Anyone signing up for GC Drum-Off?

utdrummer

Just thinking about the drum-off the other day and sure enough, it's right around the corner. Sign up is already under way, August 1, 2010, and the competition begins September 23. I went to several here in the Houston area last year and saw the good, the bad, and the ugly, but that's what the comp is about. Most drummers I saw participating were very good and their compositions were what set the winners apart. Great concept and really good prizes as well. Anyone here signing up? If so, keep us posted...

Not signing up, but I will be judging at the South Bay store in Redondo Beach (L.A.)

I've been judging for 20 or 21 years, and really enjoy the sheer talent that many of the contestants exhibit. Most are nice guys & gals, and seem modest about their technical fireworks. I certainly couldn't compete without a LOT of practice! But that's what the competition is all about: those who work hard and dedicate themselves to doing that solo, and the prizes have become quite impressive.

Bermuda

I too will be a judge at the Rhode Island store. This will be my second time. And yes, Rhode Island is small - hence the one and only GC store!

I will be judging the Guitar Center, Commack store. Last year our winner made it into the finals. I am looking really forward to a new year.

Last edited:
I watched at my local store last year, and even though I'm not much into drum solos, I enjoyed it.

I watched at my local store last year, and even though I'm not much into drum solos, I enjoyed it.

And it is important to remember that the Drum Off is about soloing, not about playing drums in a musical context. So when I judge, I just shift my perspective from 'Is this drummer gig ready?' to 'How technically adept is he?'

Bermuda