Well here goes nuttin

Scott J

I have my first gig tonight with my brand new band, kinda joined them whilst they already had gigs booked, we have a 60 song setlist and have only rehearsed together 3 times, yeah im a little nervous. Anyway as an aside what kinda things do you gigging drummers bring extra of in case of technical failures.

cheers

I usually carry a full set of heads in the car, but in my stick bag I have a few tension rods, cymbal sleeves, felts, several keys, some duct tape, masking tape, pliers, and a few screw drivers, an led light in the side pocket- so far I have only had a snare head break on my. but its worth being prepared mate!

Good luck, its understandable to be nervous, try not to be- you will enjoy it more!

Have fun above all mate and play like its the last chance you have to play.
H

Good advice by Spirit,
I have gone thru snare heads, but also a bass drum head, so a quick repair kit for such eventuality is sensible - old credit card & gaffa tape got me thru the gig!!
I too carry some spare tension rods, a few tools - look out for the D tool, a kind of "Swiss army knife" for drummers... always have a sharpie - for changing your set list or last minute cheat notes!!
Make sure you have a drink close to hand - alcoholic or otherwise depending on your taste & state of mind!!

Don't be too nervous, it stiffens you up, sit down, count the first number off and lead those guys into battle!!! Enjoy yourself and if you do make a mistake, chances are no-one or only your fellow band members will notice - move on & forget it - everybody makes mistakes, good players & bands just cover them well :-D

Most of all - you'll be the guy out there playing the coolest instrument in the band... everyone else can just watch listen & wish!!

Give em Hell mate !

Never gig without it in your bag! Along with plenty of Duck Tape.

Attachments

• extra-strength-tylenol_BD3F4FC8.jpg.jpeg
    extra-strength-tylenol_BD3F4FC8.jpg.jpeg
    9.3 KB · Views: 274