Am I too old?

Dimo drummer

Hi there, im new to this forum so am looking forward to some good conversation with you all. I started playing drums from a very early age but over the last few years i have sadly parted with the sticks due to work changes and commitments. As i am currently unemployed and sick of dead end jobs, i have realised that drumming is something i want to make a career out of so have taken up drumming lessons at a very respected music school. However, my only concern is that i am 26 and i have left it to late to aim for the industry. What do you all think? has anyone on here become full time at a later stage in there life?

Re: Am i to old?

do it because you love it my man

don't go looking to make a fortune because disappointment may be in your future if you do

where I do make a fine living playing drums....enough to pay a mortgage and support my small family ....I spent many years making close to nothing and if it were not for my deep love for music and my extremely patient and wonderful wife (then girlfriend) ....I would not have made it through

believe me.....many a nights loading gear into a car double parked in Manhattan in the rain at 2 AM with a crisp $20 bill that the band leader just handed me while cabs beeped at me to get the F out of the way would have me thinking ....what the hell am I doing right now

being able to teach definitely helped pay the bills when the gigs were often pro bono or not much more

don't let the age thing get in your way

the pop scene where the millions are may be a young mans game.....but there is work out there for all of us

it is a matter of going out and getting it .......being available....and staying relevant

study hard, practice hard, love what you do, and take all the gigs thrown your way

print up some business cards and remember peoples names

you've got nothing to lose brother ........now quit reading this and go practice :)