How can I get my double stroke roll cleaner?

Name

Okay, well I made a spot for tenors, however, some parts of our show is very bad, because my double stroke roll is not that great... This is my first year marching a percussion instrument, so it's not perfect. Anyway, my percussion tech told me that it needs to be clean by tomorrow, so is there any way to do this?

Basically, my diddles on single drums are ok (not good, but not disgusting), but when I play diddles round drums, they're not really together, he told me to make them sound the same round drums.

So can I accomplish (or at least make it a little better) before tomorrow? Also if there are any exercises I can practice, that'd be great, or if there's any tips I can have.

Thanks

EDIT: My grip has been a little loose lately, because I accidentally ripped the skin off my fingers with a super heavy stick and it hurts to grip it tightly. Would this have anything to do with it?

There's tons of things you can do to improve your doubles.

This is a good one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sz1oUOtla9w

Check patterns alternating between singles, doubles and paradiddles is another. dedicated practice on doubles is also great.

But to clean 'em up in a day? Good luck with that. Rome wasn't built in a day.....and neither is a good double stroke. Better hit that pad.

How to get it cleaner? Slow down until you can play them and work on your accuracy. Repeat several times daily for about a year, increasing speed as your accuracy allows. That'll get you there. Forget about tomorrow. That won't happen. Try out again next year.

Good luck!

How to get it cleaner? Slow down until you can play them and work on your accuracy. Repeat several times daily for about a year, increasing speed as your accuracy allows. That'll get you there. Forget about tomorrow. That won't happen. Try out again next year.

Good luck!