DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 05-20-2016, 03:07 PM

Default Seeking Teaching Advice

Hey guys! So i'll keep this concise, but I took up a job teaching at the start of February in a local music school. I've been playing for 10 years, (Well, I started when I was 7 so those first few years were pretty damn slow lol), so I feel capable to teach and so far everything has been going well. All but 1 of my students are under 11, with the bunch being a mixture of students that started with me, and students that have had a previous teacher thus being a little further along. It's been afew months now and i'm starting to settle but there are still some questions and issues that I feel still need addressed, and I thought asking some of the pros on here would be a good step as i d be getting genuine reliable advice. Some of my main questions are

- What approach do the teachers on here take in making rudiments and more theoretical stuff fun when relaying this info to young students. Most of these kids just want to learn their favorite songs and I believe its important they can do this but I want just as much focus on technique and fundamentals. Being so young I don't want to overwhelm anybody and the students enjoyment is something I prioritize quite a bit, but at the same time I don't want to focus too much on a kid enjoying themselves and thus loosing time to go over the important yet albeit more boring stuff in a childs eyes. Long story short, i'm trying to find a balance between the two; what way do you guys address situations like this?