DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 11-29-2013, 09:45 AM
Platinum Member

Default Nobody likes me

Speaking of youtube - I notice that nobody likes things as much anymore. I remember Bermuda's thread about the relevance of youtube and some of the responses there so I know some of you won't care. But this is interesting to me because I once thought being on youtube could benefit me somehow.

I have been posting videos (fairly average ones) on and off since late 2007 and the amount of comments and likes have dwindled right down. I'm not really sure about the number of views or how they've changed. I have subscribed to a fair few other drummers out there who I think are quality players and I am always surprised to see it's the same for some of them. And besides the point - there are a few over-rated ones out there too.

Imagining my videos (and the videos of those other drummers suffering the same fate) have gotten slightly better as my playing has improved - what do you guys think is happening here?

Some things I can think of:
- certain players are 'trendy' and people are following those trends blindly
- people are more competitive now
- there are more youtube videos being created (probably true but not sure how much)
- I was getting encouragement likes before
- all the supreme ''youtube drummers'' monopolized and stole all the traffic
- the orginal youtube generation (the likers) have left and the new generation are pricks
- the new wave of internet youths have new toys
- my concept of good drumming is shifting away from general public opinion
- youtube is more about professional players than amateur players now
- life's not fair

Any bites?
Old 11-29-2013, 10:06 AM

Default Re: Nobody likes me