DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-21-2016, 04:22 PM
Duck Tape's Avatar
Duck Tape Duck Tape is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,484
Default How would I go about running a live click?

How is this normally done?

I have a macbook and an iPhone.. Would much rather just use the iPhone but what do people use for live clicks? This would be for a covers band with 3-4 hrs worth of music, no time to look up a tempo and type it in (unless that's the only way. And how do they hear them as well as their band? And whatever other info would be handy, I'll be happy to listen.

Thanks!
__________________
Watch a purdie shuffle here!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFPmH1wrSiQ
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 04:27 PM
WhoIsTony?
This message has been deleted by WhoIsTony?.
  #2  
Old 05-21-2016, 05:54 PM
cbphoto's Avatar
cbphoto cbphoto is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Möbius Strip
Posts: 1,029
Default Re: How would I go about running a live click?

I use the Tama Rhythm Watch RW200 for a stage click. It can store up to 30 tempos in sequence, and it has "Stage" mode in which it plays only 2 bars, stops, and advances to the next tempo in the queue. You can tap start using the panel on the unit, or use a foot switch if desired.

In addition, Tama makes a convenient holder for it (much better than the last design) that securely attaches to a Multi-clamp.
__________________
~ CB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2016, 08:13 AM
Duck Tape's Avatar
Duck Tape Duck Tape is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,484
Default Re: How would I go about running a live click?

Thanks.. I'm probably learning towards the Frozen Ape.

So do you both run it through your own headphones/in ears for yourself or do other people get the click?
__________________
Watch a purdie shuffle here!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFPmH1wrSiQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2016, 10:17 AM
ineedaclutch's Avatar
ineedaclutch ineedaclutch is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: My living room
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: How would I go about running a live click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbphoto View Post
I use the Tama Rhythm Watch RW200 for a stage click. It can store up to 30 tempos in sequence, and it has "Stage" mode in which it plays only 2 bars, stops, and advances to the next tempo in the queue. You can tap start using the panel on the unit, or use a foot switch if desired.

In addition, Tama makes a convenient holder for it (much better than the last design) that securely attaches to a Multi-clamp.
I went through 2 of the older design. The main wheel went haywire on both, and the mounting point was terrible. This looks much better.
__________________
Get out there. Don't be a Richard.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2016, 02:21 PM
cbphoto's Avatar
cbphoto cbphoto is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Möbius Strip
Posts: 1,029
Default Re: How would I go about running a live click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duck Tape View Post
So do you both run it through your own headphones/in ears for yourself or do other people get the click?
I've done it both ways. The RW200 has a line out for sending the signal to the FOH. When that is used, no click is sent to the phones or its internal speaker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ineedaclutch View Post
I went through 2 of the older design. The main wheel went haywire on both, and the mounting point was terrible. This looks much better.
With my previous model, the main tap/start-stop button failed after five years of use.
__________________
~ CB

Last edited by cbphoto; 05-22-2016 at 02:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 02:49 PM
WhoIsTony?
This message has been deleted by WhoIsTony?.
  #6  
Old 05-22-2016, 03:01 PM
cbphoto's Avatar
cbphoto cbphoto is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Möbius Strip
Posts: 1,029
Default Re: How would I go about running a live click?

Hmm. $3 vs. $90.

Tempo - Metronome with Setlists by Frozen Ape Pte. Ltd.
https://appsto.re/us/TvDks.i

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/RW200

I'd say the app is worth a try.
__________________
~ CB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2016, 03:12 PM
cbphoto's Avatar
cbphoto cbphoto is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Möbius Strip
Posts: 1,029
Default Re: How would I go about running a live click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhoIsTony? View Post
. . . everyone hearing the click is pointless to me . . .
Maybe in your pro band. I've played in churches where everyone has in-ears and it is much better when everyone hears a click. The pianist or the strummer or the soloist is not struggling when starting a tune. The comfort level is much higher for everyone on stage.

And, naturally, Jesus does his water-into-wine crowd pleaser only when everyone follows the click.
__________________
~ CB
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 03:34 PM
WhoIsTony?
This message has been deleted by WhoIsTony?.
  #8  
Old 05-22-2016, 10:32 PM
drum4fun27302 drum4fun27302 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: How would I go about running a live click?

Yup. Frozen ape.
Make the songs with the band and everyone agreeing to the tempo and mKe a set list.
You can also move the songs around in which ever order you want on the set list.
Tempo advance by frozenape
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com