A Landmark - I'm celebrating!! The importance of getting comfortable - share your simple pleasures

Ady

I have been learning to play the drums for around 20 years now, I have been giging in some capacity during that whole time albeit sporadically.
This weekend just passed, I played 3 gigs in 2 days, I'm sure others will have done so before, that is not what I am celebrating. What I am celebrating is the fact that I played not only my first ever gigs where I haven't felt as nervous as I have in the past. I also played every show without a dropped a stick, or a stick caught somewhere in the heat of the moment, as a result, making some sort of error be it minor and unnoticeable to most of the audience or a major one where you lose your stick in the back of the guitarists head!!
I didn't really think about it at the time but it was afterwards, I also realised it was the first time I had used my new set up in a live scenario, having recently switshed from my long suffering pearl export 5 piece to my saturn 6 piece. I also got to thinking how comfortable I was whilst playing, I have started using a rack, my bass drum is smaller and I was able to get a really great position with all my toms and cymbals sitting exactly where I wanted them.
I'm constantly learning and trying to develop, I'll never be the greatest drummer in the world but I am taking my new comfortable position and confidence level as a major victory in my battle against what I think is a genuinely hard skill not only to master but to even get to a level where you are competent of the basics. I always thought I was comfortable before but now that I am I realise I was not and it feels fantastic!! keeping hold of my sticks for over 3 hours felt great!!!

Congrats! I am still nervous as all get out playing live. Though it usually subsides quickly when I have to run over to the sound board to fix some things (most gigs I play I am running sound as well...).