Who has to play to a click or backing track live?

Larry

"Uncle Larry"
I'm just Mr. Curious.

How do you like it? Do you prefer it? Do you have to wear headphones? Do you feel restrained at all? I never did it. Not even once! A looper is the closest I've come. So do your mates hear what you do? Feel free to bitch about it or sing it's praises, I just don't know what it's like.

I've only had to do it once Larry, & I'd prefer not to do it again if possible. The reason was integration of visuals, together with a lot of programmed keyboard arpeggio stuff. I can do it, but I feel stiff in that setting. Not enjoyable, & as it's not putting food on the table, I'll leave it to others.

I've been playing to a click for over 25 years. I actually feel freed up when the click goes on. It's like: "My buddy with the cowbell is has perfect time so I just play along with him".

It's much harder when the other musicians are less mature and just go off on their own. I remember an extreme case where I had to take the cans off because the bassist's time was so bad and he refused to listen to the rest of the band. (He played "by feel", gotta love that one).

Live I don't do it much anymore because I don't have to. The bands I'm in right now have solid musicians and there are no sequencers.

I've done it a fair bit live and of course pretty much all the time recording. I really enjoy it I must say. The point that has already been made about the standard of the musicianship around the band is crucial.

I depped in a band last year where they had backing tracks that we had to play to. To be honest it made fundamentally dull material much more interesting to me.