Programmed Drums. Yay, or nay?

orphanpipe

Hello all,

I've not seen this post yet, and am curious as to what other drummers REALLY feel about the phenomenon of albums being released with programmed drums. A lot of up and coming (mainly rock) bands have released their albums with computerized drums, and I find it to be a horrid turn of direction in the world of music.

First, I find that the actual parts being programmed for the albums have no "groove" or better yet, no soul. They offer the deception of groove, but all feel like something is missing...I don't know, maybe a drummer's mind?

I also cannot stand the lack of proper dynamic and tonal changes that are presented when a drummer is recorded live.

Am I being to ruthless here? I find no tolerance in it...but alas, I am a drummer. Of course I feel this way.

As a rule, I prefer real drums but I'm getting older and new pop music isn't for me.

What we have is the replacement of artisanship by efficient manufacturing methods, resulting in less ornate and expressive works with a more streamlined, efficient style. Both have their appeal but when it comes to charm it's no contest ... as with architecture:

beautiful-old-building.jpg

11_03_3_web.jpg

.... I find it to be a horrid turn of direction in the world of music.
That's been going on, since the 80's.​

Am I being to ruthless here? I find no tolerance in it...but alas, I am a drummer. Of course I feel this way.
I think it depends on the type of music you're talking about. Techno, Electro, Industrial, Noise, etc ...... there are plenty of types of music where programming fits just fine. Classic rock, Jazz ..... not so much.​
Chris Vrenna and Kenneth Wilson (Ginger Fish) are two examples of drummers who program .... and at the end of it all .... a paycheck is a paycheck.​

I for the most part really dislikes music with programmed drum parts. I change the channel if it comes up on the radio.