"I'd take Visions over Saturns any day. And even over Masters" (Music Store Salesman) (??)

diegobxr

Silver Member
Hi everybody. I hope a lot of you read this post and give me a hand, 'cause I'm more confused than ever.

[This is quite a long post so if you want you can skip this intro and go right to the question, Thanks]

Here's the deal: For about a month now I've been doing my homework, searching and reading A LOT of old DW threads, checking websites, watching videos, etc. in order to decide on which kit to buy. I've been playing for 8 years, my kit is a Pearl Forum and I really really feel the "need" for an upgrade.

Today I spent the whole afternoon going from shop to shop to see for myself and try the different kits. This is the list of prices for some kits in my country (beware 'cause they're shockingly higher than in the US):

- Mapex Saturn 6 piece (22,10,12,14,16,14SD) = $3.200
- Pearl Masters Custom 5 piece (22,10,12,14,14SD) = $2.950
- Pearl Vision VMX 5 piece (22,10,12,14,14SD) = $2.000
- Mapex Meridian Maple 5 piece Rock Config (24,13,16,18,14SD) = $1.600
- Mapex Meridian Birch 5 piece Rock Config (24,13,16,18,14SD) = $1.300

All of them with hardware and snare drum. Pearl's HW is better but Mapex's ain't bad at all. Meridian Maples come with 2.3mm PowerHoops and spring loaded floor tom legs. Meridian Birchs come with regular 1.6mm hoops and standard FT legs.
Maybe it's worth mentioning that I also considered Yamaha Stage Customs ($1900), New Gretsch Catalinas ($1.700) and Tama Superstars ($1.650). Yamaha here is just ridicously expensive, Gretsch Catalina's hardware is pretty lame (tom holders, rods, lugs, etc) and Superstars are great but they really don't attract me at all (the wraps and those long lugs aren't for me).

Today I tuned and played a Catalina Birch, It sounded really nice, but damn, the hardware and the new tom holder (the one that attaches to just 2 rods) was really a deal breaker there.

And well, here come my questions: