Learning to sight read

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
A few ppl have been telling me I best learn to sight read so I think I'm gonna start making a little effort.

I studied classical theory and piano growing up but I never was that great at reading. I can do it but it's a bit slow and frustrating.

I thought about guitar hero, and a maths game I used to play and thought, surely there's a program that can help?

Rock Band helped me a lot. A lot of it, I think, is just raw experience- having your brain learn to recognize common patterns. Rock Band helps you recognize what a lot of patterns look like (even though it's not an exactly allegory to sheet music) so I'd start with some complicated songs there.

Rock Band helped me a lot. A lot of it, I think, is just raw experience- having your brain learn to recognize common patterns. Rock Band helps you recognize what a lot of patterns look like (even though it's not an exactly allegory to sheet music) so I'd start with some complicated songs there.

I would skip this entirely and buy a beginner snare drum book, then move to drum set or multi percussion books.

A few ppl have been telling me I best learn to sight read so I think I'm gonna start making a little effort.

I studied classical theory and piano growing up but I never was that great at reading. I can do it but it's a bit slow and frustrating.

I thought about guitar hero, and a maths game I used to play and thought, surely there's a program that can help?

IMO sight-reading is just a volume game. Just do it alot and you'll be golden. :)

Cheers

reading jazz charts for class helped me get better at sight reading.

one of my professors has this on his office door lol

9gag-auto-265238.jpeg

Does rockband have notation?

Topgun I have a couple of books but I like the idea of something interactive, or something that instantly tells me whether I'm right or wrong. I think it would help me learn alot faster.