What gives a drum its sound??

Irrational Gaze

Hi everyone,

I'm a fairly new drummer who currently plays on a Roland electric kid and i might want to buy a new kit soon. I'm confused on what gives a drum its sound though. If anyone can answer these questions that would be of great help:

1. How do dimensions affect sound?

2. How do different shell materials (ex. mahogany or brass)?

3. What sounds are different drum companies characterized by? (ex. does Sonor have a sound that's distinct to all of its drums?)

4. How do different drum heads affect sound? What distinct sounds do each company/model make?

Thanks everybody

Answer: You give your drums your sound.

1. How do dimensions affect sound? I'm not going to go into much detail here, but generally GENERALLY larger drums allow you to achieve deeper sounds smaller drums find their voices when tuned higher...

2. How do different shell materials (ex. mahogany or brass)? There is no doubt a wide array of opinions on this. People insist that certain woods achieve certain sonic qualities and with use words like "tone" or "overtone" "deep" "wet" "dry" etc.. As with cymbals this is all extremely subjective as well. I'd say that unless you were playing a given drumset under extremely controlled sonic conditions like in a studio or a "drum room" you'd have a hard time telling the difference between birch, maple, ash, beech, or whatever... I think more has to do with tuning and environment for day to day players than wood type.

3. What sounds are different drum companies characterized by? (ex. does Sonor have a sound that's distinct to all of its drums?) All drum companies have low, mid, and high end drums. People have preferences, and brand loyalties and what have you, but generally speaking all high end kits are going to be great. Some companies take greater care in their low-end kits, but I think the playing field is even leveling out there.