Roland SPD-S help.

Jairus_attack

So I have been drumming for about 2 years now(im 16), and I decided to get the spd-s for christmas.

I havent tried making my own patches or anything like that, but can anyone tell me the easiest way to put an 808 boom on there?

That and can I make my own sounds and synth parts, then track them onto a ptach?

pelase help,
thanks.

I would just search on Google for some 808 samples. I'm sure you can find some if you search for "Free 808 Samples", or something like that. Then, if they are .wav files, just put them on a compact flash card and load them onto your SPD-S. Having a compact flash card is the only way. The SPD-S can't use a card larger than 512mb so just be aware before you go buy one.

yea i got my pad off of ebay and it came with th 512mb card,
and i tried that.
its mainly just causal bass beats you find in rap songs and whatnot.

Im looking specifically the kind you hear in breakdowns in some recent bands.
i know the devil wears prada uses it, bring me the horizon, attack! attack! does too.

and since the spd-s has the same input as a guitar amp, could i plug in a guitar and record some chords and stuff?

I would give the guitar thing a try. I don't think you'll hurt anything, as long as you arent plugging it in from a guitar amp or anything. You may need a Direct Injection box to get your guitar signal up to line level, but yeah, I don't see why that wouldn't work. I don't claim to be an expert on the SPD-S but i've fooled around with mine a lot.

As for the big boom sounds, I know there are a few 808 'boom' samples on the spd-s but heres a link that may help: http://free-loops.com/free-loops-find.php?term=808

Alright well i think im gonna hold off on the guitar idea.

another question,
when putting sounds on my card, do i just put them in the folder, put the card in my pad, and then the pad will realize the sounds and thats that?

or is it not that easy?