DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 12-27-2017, 02:08 PM

Default I'll be playing drumset for my university's marching band next semester and I dont know what to do

Next semester, my section instructor/director offered me to switch from marching snare to playing drumset in the pit around a month ago. I said yes because I was a "backup" snare drummer in a way and wanted to play something at least.

I've been playing "drums" for almost 5 years - most of that spending doing shitty and sloppy practice on the practice pad.I then joined my university's marching band earlier this year and basically had my band instructor and section leader correct all of my shit forcing me back to square one, kind of.

I did get a used Yamaha DTX540k 5 months ago though so at least I have something to practice on if I have to, and I've been trying to squeeze in playing time whether I could even before.

But since I said yes, I have been freaking out on whether am I worthy to take that position or not. I watched some DCI and WGI drum cams and it seems to be more complex than I thought it would be, which is why I'm scared shitless right now.

I plan to practice as much as possible after my finals end next month... around 6++/day or something like that.

And I asked my instructor on what things should I learn and he said -
  • Time signatures : 4/4 , 3/4, 2/4 , 6/8
  • Polyrhythms (like 4 against 2, 3 against 2,etc.)
  • Rudiments [The 40 standards and more hybrid rudiments]
  • Timing (It needs to be flawless)