Complete beginner here, looking for the best instructional dvd/book/lessons etc

jco5055

First off, I used the search bar, but I couldn't get a definite answer.

Well, I'm 22 and a complete beginner. My only experience with drums is once in a while dicking around on an ex-bandmates kit (I sing and play guitar) and owning Rock Band 2 and playing on that.

I plan on buying a kit soon, and was interested in the best book/dvd/online lessons. I really doubt I'll have the time to seek out and have lessons with somebody in my area, not to mention as I plan on most likely using drums as more of a songwriting tool, unless I discover a real passion or talent for the instrument.

I don't know if I'm really keen on paying a subscription, but if I were I seem to understand that Mike's lessons is the most commonly recommended.

I also would prefer really just one book/method etc for my learning right now, and from what I've researched I've come across the Drumming System and the Progressive Complete Learn to Play Drums Manual. I understand that the Drumming System is a lot pricier,and a lot of people don't really like Drumeo, but if it would be worth it and works with my goals I would get it.

Also, to elaborate on what's listed above, I understand that Vic Firth has good rudiments lessons etc, but I'd really like one source where I can learn everything up to a certain level, such as feet technique and even just how to use the sticks correctly. Now if there were multiple sites/products that worked very well together (aka just master the rudiments on Vic Firth's site and complete X dvd) I'd be ok with that also.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I also just realized that I've posted here more than I thought and have been a member for 2 years. Please ignore any past posts I have made, as I have not become a drummer since I joined.

I'm not quite sure if it's the best book to start with. But I tell you, if I could "start over" with drums, with no doubt I'd choose this one: